Saturday, November 28, 2020

Carrabassett Valley Academy

Location: Sugarloaf, Maine

Phone: 207-237-2250


Grades: 7 through PG

Founded: 1982

Category: Full-year traditional ski academy, full-year school with winter term option, day school boarding

Day School Cost: $31,845 for winter-term, additional options available

Boarding School Cost: $42,460 for winter-term, additional options available

Financial Aid: Yes

Notable Coaches: Chip Cochrane, Sean Chatellard, Travis Plass, Jeff Beauregard, Ron Bonnevie, Jon Wagner, Jeni Conover, Matt Jones, Sean Sullivan, Nate McKenzie, Keegan Kilbride, Jesse Duncan, Jesse Lowell, Michael Phelan, Patrick O’Rourke, Todd Johnson, Michael Goldschmidt, Tristan Clegg, Freddy McCarthy

Notable Alumni: Bode Miller, Kiersten Clark, Ben Morse, Sam Morse

Featured Alumni

Academic Approach: CVA strives to provide an environment and academic program that develops independent thinkers who can successfully balance rigorous academics and athletics with being constructive members of the community. We do so by using individualized instruction to assure that students with a variety of learning styles achieve academic success in areas that match their college and career goals.

Athletic Approach: CVA athletics are a pivotal aspect of the co-curricular experience at CVA. It provides students with the opportunity to compete around the world, but also helps teach life skills about goal setting, teamwork, time management, and commitment.

Training Facilities: Sugarloaf Mountain, a U.S. Ski Development Site, and the AntiGravity Training Complex

Additional Info: Sugarloaf Mountain, right here in Carrabassett Valley, is our school’s home mountain. Sugarloaf has the largest vertical drop of any ski area East of the Rockies, and offers varied and challenging terrain for our student-athletes to train on, as well as unparalleled support of competitions and training. CVA Alpine racers train on Sugarloaf’s “Narrow Gauge,” one of the only FIS-certified downhill courses in the east. This trail was host to the World Cups in 1971, and the U.S. National Championships in 1996, 1997, 2006, 2008, and 2015.

Pin It on Pinterest