Just like last year, Austria’s Athletes of the Year are alpine skier Marcel Hirscher and snowboarder Anna Gasser. For the fourth time in a row, Hirscher won the trophy at the Lotteries Sporthilfe Gala as the best Austrian athlete. Gasser won the women’s category for the second time.

Hirscher easily prevailed in front of tennis star Dominic Thiem in the election conducted among the members of the Sports Journalists Association Sports Media Austria (SMA). With five awards, the double Olympic champion and seven-time Overall World Cup winner is now the most successful male athlete since the award was first given in 1949. With Olympic gold and the overall World Cup victory in the Big Air, Anna Gasser won the coveted trophy for the second time with a clear advantage. The Para-Athlete of the Year category went to alpine skier Claudia Loesch.


Athlete of the year (men):

1. Marcel Hirscher (alpine skiing) 1,111 points

2. Dominic Thiem (tennis) 872 points

3. David Gleirscher (sledding) 316 points

4. Matthias Walkner (motorsport) 263 points

5. Matthias Mayer (alpine skiing) 257 points

Athlete of the year (women):

1. Anna Gasser (snowboard) 1.356 points

2. Ivona Dadic (athletics) 573

3. Anna Veith (alpine skiing) 417 points

4. Vanessa Herzog (speed skating) 337 points

5. Jessica Mushroom (climbing) 323 points

Team of the year:

1. Red Bull Salzburg (soccer) 927 points

2. ÖHV National Team Men (hockey) 416 points

3. Robert Gardos/Daniel Habesohn (table tennis) 335 points

4. Peter Penz/Georg Fischler (sledding/artificial track) 297 points

5. ÖTV Davis Cup Team (tennis) 260 points

Other category winners:

Newcomer of the year (audience choice): David Gleirscher (tobogganing)

Coaching personality of the year: Gregor Hoegler (athletics)

Athlete of the Year with Disabilities: Claudia Loesch (alpine skiing)

Athlete of the Year with Disabilities: Thomas Geierspichler (athletics/racing wheelchair)

Special Olympics Athlete of the Year: Romana Zablatnik (swimming)

Sportsman with heart: Michael Strasser (extreme cyclist)

Release courtesy of the Austrian Ski Federation.