The Eastern Ski Writers Association (ESWA) has awarded Mikaela Shiffrin (Burke Mountain Academy, East Burke, Vt.) and Kieffer Christianson (Dartmouth College) with the 2013 Don A. Metivier Golden Ski Award.

This is Shiffrin’s third and Christianson’s first win. The winners were officially recognized at the New England Ski Museum in Franconia, N.H., on May 31.

The Golden Ski Award has been presented to the top junior male and female skiers in the East since 1969. In 1975, the Ski was “lost.” In 2007, the New England Ski Museum was given some artifacts, and in that donation was the original Golden Ski. ESWA revitalized the honor, and named it in memory of long-time snowsports journalist Don A. Metivier.

“The Golden Ski Award is the oldest honor given to alpine ski racers that exists today,” said Jim Gregory, chair of the ESWA’s Golden Ski Award Committee, “It has been presented to top ski racers from the East since 1969, the year after the modern World Cup circuit started. Many of the Golden Ski winners have gone on to World Cup gold as well. We are proud to honor Mikaela Shiffrin and Kieffer Christianson, two extraordinary athletes, and look forward watching them set the bar even higher as they pursue their careers on the slopes.”

Golden Ski History
1969: Tyler Palmer, Karen Middleton
1970: Charles Bent, Karen Middleton
1971: Judy McNealus, Rod Taylor
1972: Jody Palmer, Laurent Gaudin
1973: Jerry McNealus, No female winner
1974: No award
1975: Holly Flanders, Scott Light
1976-2007: Award Lost
2008: Bump Heldman, Julia Ford
2009: Nolan Kasper, Julia Ford
2010: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Julia Ford
2011: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin
2012: Ryan Cochran-Siegle, Mikaela Shiffrin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here