The selections for Swiss alpine skiers named to the national team as well as the A, B, and C teams total 52 men and 36 women for the 2016-17 season. Lara Gut, Wendy Holdener, and Fabienne Suter headline the women’s roster while Beat Feuz, Carlo Janka, Patrick Kueng, Daniel Yule, and Justin Murisier were all named to the men’s top squad.

Selections were made by Swiss-Ski Alpine Director Stéphane Cattin in conjunction with head coaches Hans Flatscher (women), Thomas Stauffer (men), and Beat Tschuor (juniors).


A number of C team athletes for the upcoming season were either promoted from their respective regions: NLZ East, NLZ Central, or NLZ West, or return from last season’s C squad. Unlike in previous years in the Swiss system, no athlete from a regional team was named directly to the B team or higher for 2016-17. Seven deselected athletes (one male and six females) from last season’s B and C teams will return to their respective regional squads.

The FIS Alpine World Ski Championships will take place in St. Moritz, Switzerland, in Feb. 2017, and athletes from this selection will all hope to qualify to compete before their home crowd next winter.

View the full men’s team selections here.

View the full women’s team selections here.

Release courtesy of Swiss-Ski